Her Story Unread

writing with love

Murdered by Love September 13, 2011

Filed under: poetry — Within Grace @ 8:30 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I walked along the shore

A lone seagull soared gracefully above the ocean

We became one

Flying over the great sea

I drifted beneath clouds

The cool breeze kept me gliding

Waves crashed below

Faded in

Then out

I danced with the peaceful wind

As it carried me further

I could hear nothing

But you

You called out to me

Whispered my name

Suddenly

The sky, gray

Violently shook

Provocative electricity

Continuously zapped the water

Another bolt and Iā€™m struck

Shaken

Confused

I feverishly flapped my wings

Longing to reach the shore

Ignorant

Blinded

I mistook your whispers as love

Instead

You used me

Attacked me

Left me alone for dead

 

Ā© LRS 2011

 

 

9 Responses to “Murdered by Love”

  1. zumpoems Says:

    Wow! This carried my along — moves forward so nicely — the mood shift and suddenly increases intensity and pushes on forward quickly! And the last 5 lines so striking.

    • Reese Says:

      Again, thank you. I tried to convey my sudden shift in the emotions I felt that moment. It was quite intense. I appreciate you reading & leaving a comment. Be blessed.

  2. poethereal Says:

    OUCH!!! Such beautiful melancholy.

  3. Steve Says:

    Electricity = passion – both wanton lustful passion but also the passion of wanting – and flapping wings – a beautiful metaphor for days wishing someone would pick up the phone or text šŸ™‚

    • Reese Says:

      you’ve captured my tone in this poem very nicely.
      thank you for your visit, reading and taking the time to comment on each one. your words brought tears to my eyes. i’m so happy to have found a friend in you šŸ™‚

  4. such a tragedy–this murder that you made of me
    to plunge unholy fingers deep into my chest and sever free
    the heart that beat devotedly–only for your majesty
    but now is left abandoned here beside my broken effigy

    The pain presented here is magnificently sad and stirring. Divine agony crafted into a beautiful sculptured verse. Wonderful

    • Reese Says:

      You are a lovely surprise to have ventured into my script. Thank you for sharing. We should write a poem together perhaps. I’m blessed to be able to take pieces from situations and create my own story, my own art. In doing so, I can transform any experience into exactly what I wish it to be or become. Despair doesn’t have to be painful, if I choose to be joyful that day. Selfishness of others needn’t be of my concern, if I choose to be brilliant that day. I know who I am, I create where I lack.


Leave a Reply

