Her Story Unread

writing with love

Paradise November 24, 2011

Filed under: poetry — Within Grace @ 6:55 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Searching for other broken hearts
To piece together what’s left of us
Create an untouched me

 

Binding my hope in God’s everlasting love
Standing strong as the world crumbles
Determined to remain faithful, honest, and free

 

I stayed awake all night, waiting to feel your thoughts
Instead I heard them sing of all I wished I had
Pretending I’m not jealous, manic, or needy

 

No physical pain could match the ache within
Playing with ways to ease my fright
An understated, calm, practical tendency

 

If the love I was told was ever really mine
This ink wouldn’t be the only way I wept
The only time I’m happy

 

Guaranteed another disappointing day
Contemplating whether the risk is measured in worth
I look to the divine, focus less on the worldly

 

© LRS 2011

 

 

3 Responses to “Paradise”

  1. Such a bittersweet sadness. The lament of an aching heart seems to be a sound I could hear from the other side of the world–a language I am well versed in. Thank you for sharing these lines. I feel the pain in them but they speak to me. I appreciate that

    • Reese Says:

      seems more fitting that our hearts be better versed in happiness and joy yet if i continue to look to this world for fulfillment, i will forever be trapped in sadness.

  2. mswillz Says:

    “I stayed awake all night waiting to feel your thoughts”…. Such wonderful use!! Great expression.


Leave a Reply

