Her Story Unread

writing with love

Within The REM May 6, 2011

Living in my dreams
a more comfortable reality as of late
I reunited with my relatives.

All of them
taller, larger than I
stood over me with
protection and care.

As I hugged each one
I felt…
at home.

I reconnected with
my childhood
the loving relationships
I so deeply missed.

Tears fell into
puddles at our bare feet
whilst we embraced
spirits flowed freely from
one body into the next
sharing our souls with
peace and ease.

I climbed into their arms
we exchanged blinding
apologies and well-wishes
nothing was comforting
all was overwhelming.

Each tear
tore into the earth with
vengeance
guilt
regret.

The warmth of their bodies
told me the truth.

I awoke feeling calm
yet uneasy and
still empty.

Oh peaceful sleep,
why have you left me…

 

© LRS 2011

 

 

8 Responses to “Within The REM”

  1. booguloo Says:

    Lots to work out if it’s worth the effort. Here’s hoping you make the right decision for yourself.

  2. poethereal Says:

    This past Christmas I reconnected with family I haven’t seen in YEARS!!! I had been lost, so the fault was mine. Family is true love, and although I hardly recognized some of them and there were new members I’d never met. We touched like we’d never been apart. Don’t know your situation, but if the reasons to are anywhere near as important as the reasons not to, I’d highly recommend that you clear your side of the street before it’s too late. Peace 🙂

    • Reese Smith Says:

      P, last year I for the first time met my half-siblings, aunts, cousins, grandma, and father. I also reconnected with a cousin from my mom’s side after 9 years. It was an amazing and heartbreaking experience. I don’t regret it, but it brought forth some incredibly difficult emotions to deal with. I’ve been blessed with the ability to creatively release some of them in my poems. I’m very grateful for your read, comments, and advice. I hope you’ll be back!

  3. poetryofpain Says:

    Yeah, relations can be difficult and complicated to understand especially with family…
    I believe almost everyone can relate to this…Thanks for sharing…

  4. I really like this one.


Leave a comment