Her Story Unread

writing with love

Lay With Me June 14, 2011

I knock on the door
“Come in,” I hear said,
I walk into your house
See you laying in bed.

 

“Hi,” I whisper
“Hello,” you return,
“Come here,” you request
Oh how I want, oh how I yearn.

 

Here, I lay in your arms
Allowing your warmth to become my own,
You wink at me, a smile escapes
When I am with you I never feel alone.

 

As I snuggle my face
Deep into your chest,
Your sweetness smothers
Becomes my breath.

 

Feeling this moment
As if it were true,
I close my eyes
Find my self in you.

 

Hold me close
So close, so tight,
Here, laying together
We watch day become night.

 

I must never fall asleep
Or lose the feel of your touch,
For when I wake in the morning
All that remains will be dust.

 

For now I’ll stay here
Laying next to you in bed,
If I can’t have you with me
We’ll be together in my head.

 

© LRS 2011

 

 

9 Responses to “Lay With Me”

  1. I like the flow and feel of your poem. Great job.

  2. Reese Smith Says:

    Thanks J. I really appreciate you reading & taking the time to comment. Have a blessed day.

  3. Mr. Watson Says:

    Great passion! Strong passion! Makes it feel so real… Even in the moments its not happening! Love it!

    • Reese Smith Says:

      Thanks Mr Watson. This was a fun write… mostly, my fantasy world is MUCH better than my reality 😉 I’m working on reversing that!

  4. booguloo Says:

    Sometimes fantasy is the best cure to reality. This is Hot.

  5. Steve Says:

    Lovely poem Reese – I love the sentiment of desperately staying awake or else the moment has gone forever and I also like the way you have separated “myself” to “my self” gives that extra feeling of finding your …. self – love it ! I also wrote a poem – much shorter – called Lay With Me – it’s here if you get a chance to have a look – http://camenascriptor.tumblr.com/post/6938223423/lay-with-me 🙂

    • Reese S. Says:

      Even when the moment is gone & you’re alone, you can always relive your times together. Thanks for noticing & commenting on my intent with “my self”… someone corrected me once not realizing my purpose. I love your version of Lay With Me… such a peaceful invitation!!


Leave a comment